Skip to main content

MyData: Uploading data to MyData

Create, manage and publish your own datasets

How do I upload data to MyData?

Metadata Guidelines

Metadata Field (English/Spanish) Metadata Guidelines
Dataset Title/Titulo Only add the title, no need to add any qualifier of the type of data (dataset, file & document, link to external database). This will be added automatically in the Data Catalog.
Brief Description/Descripción For datasets only: Add Check data here/Haga clic aqui only in English (it will be excluded from the Data Catalog automatically)
Category/Categorías Synchronize the two languages with the same content.
Tags/Keyword /Etiquetas Add tags for topics, cities, countries contemplated in the data (in one or two languages), separated by semicolon. 
Row Label Leave blank.
License Type This is a mandatory field. According to AM-331. Please use the “Creative Commons Attribution | Noncommercial | No Derivative Works 3.0 IGO”  for all datasets.
Data Provided by IDB Unit in most cases - Should follow this format: Department Name (VPS/Department Code) or Division name (VPS/Department Code/Division Code)
Source link If available
Available download formats/Formatos de descarga disponibles Fill out only for external datasets, otherwise leave blank
Background Document Attachments/Adjuntos documento de antecedentes Title of publication followed by the Link to publication (if more than one, separate with semi-colon and space). Example: Cybersecurity: Are We Ready in Latin America and the Caribbean?; https://publications.iadb.org/handle/11319/7449
APIs for External Databases To use ONLY when you are cataloging an External Dataset (do not fill it on a Socrata dataset)
Size of dataset Leave blank
Dataset Home URL Best landing page available: Socrata visualization URL if there is, for a Data File direct link to ID, if not leave empty (don't link to About or any other website)
Name Acronym/Nombre Acrónimo If not available leave blank.
Number of Countries Two letter country -ISO code (if more than one separate with semicolon) Check out the list here: http://iadb.libguides.com/mydata
Published Date:  New mandatory field
Last Revision Date/Última Fecha de revisión YYYY/MM/DD
Update Frequency (mandatory for databases only) Select option from dropdown, if other fill out Update Schedule (mandatory for databases only)
Update Schedule (mandatory for databases only) Fill out if "other" selected from Update Frequency (mandatory for databases only)
Next expected update YYYY/MM/DD
Team responsible for updating Surname, Name (if more than one separate with semi-colon and space). Make sure it matches the Taxonomy.
Source/Fuente de datos MANDATORY (copy and paste the sources, put a link to the list of sources somewhere else or put the Title URL and pages of the sources in a publication).
Publisher/Editor Inter-American Development Bank / Banco Interamericano de Desarrollo (if two or more separate with semi-colon and a space and make sure the name of other institution matches with the Taxonomy)
Type/Tipo Select from dropdown menu: Cross sectional; Geo spatial; Panel Data; Survey (Microdata); Time series; Transactions.
Languages Supported EN, or ES, or PT, or FR ONLY (two or more can be used) (if more than one, separate each with a semicolon - no space)
Citation/Citación Create citation always, ask your Embedded Librarian.
Notes/Notas Leave empty if no notes are available. Don't use No, Yes, None, etc.
Number of variables New mandatory field
Methodology/Metodología Title of publication, URL, and pages where the methodology is available (for example: p. 12-13) OR copy and paste the methodology as text if it is not too long.
Time Period Covered YYYY-YYYY (if no dates in the dataset, put 0000-0000)
Data Notes/Notas de datos Leave empty if no notes are available. Don't use No, Yes, None, N/A, etc.
Indicators/Indicadores Names of the indicators available in the dataset, separated by commas.
Scope of Access/Ámbito de acceso Public/Público OR Private/Privado ONLY. Don't leave blank.
Creator contact data Surname, Name -Make sure it marches the Taxonomy- (Position as in Directory; E-mail)
IDB Unit Responsible/Unidad Responsable del BID

Full Department OR Unit Name (depending if it is a department or division level, make sure it matches the Taxonomy). If more than one departments/units separate by semi-colon and space. 

Should follow this format: Department Name (VPS/Department Code) or Division name (VPS/Department Code/Division Code). 

Project leader Full Name (Make sure it matches the Taxonomy)
IDB Unit Chief or Manager approval/BID jefe de la unidad o la aprobación del administrador Full Name (EZ-SHARE# with authorization for publishing dataset) (Make sure it matches the Taxonomy)
Source of funding/Fuente de financiación Project code only (AZ-T####, AZ-L####, etc.). If more than one separate by semi-colon and space.
Disclaimer/Aviso Legal Copy and paste generic text from AM-331 Database/Datasets section, do not leave blank.
Dataset Categories Please complete according to dataset subject terms 
Table Preview New mandatory field. Please add columns, rows and values for landing page "Table Preview".

Best Practices For Metadata Management - Countries

API for External Databases: to use ONLY when you are cataloging an External Dataset (do not fill it on a Socrata dataset)

Country: use the 2 character country code listed on the attached file. Countries should be separated by comma and no spaces (e.g AR,BR)

AR - ARGENTINA
BA - BARBADOS
BH - BAHAMAS
BE - BELIZE
BO - BOLIVIA
BR - BRAZIL
CH - CHILE
CO - COLOMBIA
CR - COSTA RICA
DR - DOMINCAN REPUBLIC
EC - ECUADOR
EL - EL SALVADOR
GU - GUATEMALA
GY - GUYANA
HA - HAITI
HO - HONDURAS
JA - JAMAICA
ME - MEXICO
NI - NICARAGUA
PN - PANAMA
PR - PARAGUAY
PE - PERU
SU - SURINAME
TT - TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
UR - URUGUAY
VE - VENEZUELA

 

Last Updated: Use date format YYYY/MM/DD

Language Supported: use the 2 letter language code and separate them by using a comma and no spaces (e.g EN,ES):

                EN = English

                ES = Spanish

                PT = Portuguese

                FR = French

Time Period Covered: use the format START YEAR - END YEAR (YYYY-YYYY). In case the dataset has only one year, add the same year on both sides (e.g. 2015-2015)

Dataset Categories/Categorías del Conjunto de Datos: syncronize the two fields with the same content (e.g Energy / Energia)

Filters: Also please ensure that your original Dataset has no filters as this will stop it from being indexed in Data Catalog (the system sees the filters as a sub-set of the original Dataset).

Questions?

Click on your department to contact your librarian:

IFD

INE & CSD

INT

RES

SCL

VPC

VPP

Other